Favorite Team to Win HBL PSL 2020

HBL PSL 2020 Season 5 which started on 20th Feb 2020 was the first season that was held entirely in PAKISTAN. The Final of HBL PSL 2020 was to play on 22nd march in Lahore. but the playoff stage of the tournament was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In late March 2020, the PCB was looking at whether to declare the winner of the tournament based on the league standings or to play the matches at a later date. On 2 July 2020, the PCB announced that they plan to complete the season in November 2020. On 2 September 2020, the PCB confirmed the fixtures for the remaining matches.

Now Playoffs which were scheduled to be played in Lahore from 14-17 of November are shifted to Karachi due to high expectations of SMOG in Lahore.

  • In Playoffs, MULTAN SULTANS being the table-toppers will face the No.2 Karachi Kings in Qualifier 1 which will be played in NATIONAL STADIUM KARACHI on 14th November. Match will start in the afternoon at 2 pm.

  • The second match will be played between the No.3 and No.4 seats in the points table, PESHAWAR ZALMI will face LAHORE QALANDARS in the second match and that will be the ELIMINATOR. Match will start in the evening on the same day at 7 pm at National Stadium Karachi.

  • The third match will be played between the loser of Q1 and the Winner of Eliminator in National Stadium Karachi on 15th November at 7 pm. This will be ELIMINATOR 2 where the winner goes into the finals.

  • Final and the last match to be played on 17th Nov at 7 pm In national stadium Karachi. This will be played between the Winners of Q1 and E2.

Remember Islamabad United And Quetta Gladiators Are Already Out Of The Tournament.

The good news is that All the foreign players are coming to Pakistan again, there might be a few not coming but the major foreign players are coming again. This means we will have some NAIL BITERS hopefully. All 4 teams look Good and Strong if we look at the squads.

PSL 2020 Teams & Squads

Karachi Kings:

Imad Wasim (c), Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (wk.), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Aamer Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Ali Khan, Chadwick Walton (wk.), Umaid Asif, Mitchell McClenaghan, Awais Zia, Arshad Iqbal, Waqas Maqsood.

karachi kings team squad 2020
karachi kings team squad 2020

Lahore Qalandars:

Sohail Akhtar (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Dilbar Hussain, Abid Ali, Agha Salman, Shaheen Afridi, Ben Dunk (wk.), David Wiese, Haris Rauf, Dane Vilas (wk), Salman Butt, Usman Shinwari, Fakhar Zaman, Chris Lynn, Samit Patel, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jaahid Ali (wk), Raja Farzan, Muhammad Faizan, Salman Irshad, Maaz Khan

lahore qalandars team squad 2020
lahore qalandars team squad 2020

Multan Sultans:

Shan Masood (c), Shahid Afridi, Rohail Nazir (wk.), Ali Shafiq, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Ilyas, James Vince, Junaid Khan, Moeen Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Zeeshan Ashraf (wk.), Ravi Bopara, Sohail Tanvir, Wayne Madsen, Khushdil Shah, Fabian Allen, Usman Qadir, Imran Tahir, Bilawal Bhatti, Asad Shafiq.

multan sultans team squad 2020
multan sultans team squad 2020

Peshawar Zalmi:

Wahab Riaz (c), Sikandar Raza, Darren Sammy, Kamran Akmal (wk.), Hammad Azam, Shoaib Malik, Hasan Ali, Umar Amin, Imam-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Tom Banton (wk.), Liam Dawson, Lewis Gregory, Carlos Brathwaite, Mohammad Mohsin, Yasir Shah, Rahat Ali, Adil Amin, Dwaine Pretorius, Liam Livingstone, Haider Ali, Mohammad Amir Khan, Aamir Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Ali Khan.

peshawar zalmi team squad 2020
peshawar zalmi team squad 2020

Point Table and Standings

Multan Sultans: Multan Sultans Are the table-toppers (14 points) having won 6/10 matches,

Karachi Kings: Karachi Kings is on no.2 in points table having won 5/10 matches. they have 11 points.

Lahore Qalandars: They are no.3 with 10 points in the points table having won 5/10 matches.

Peshawar Zalmi: They are No.4 with 10 points having won 5/10 matches.

(Lahore qalandar has better NRR than Peshawar Zalmi)

For me, the favorite team to win HBL PSL 2020 is Multan Sultans, they have a very good squad. Their main weapon is their spin bowlers which are SHAHID AFRIDI, MOIN ALI, IMRAN TAHIR. They have a good and balanced batting line up with SHAN MASOOD leading from the front, all they need to do is to continue the winning streak with the same strategy they were using. They have experienced fast bowlers in the shape of MUHAMMAD IRFAN, JUNAID KHAN, and SOHAIL TANVEER.

So, my prediction is SHAN MASOOD (Multan Sultans) to lift the trophy on the 17th of November!

More than just a game! HBL PSL 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *